TSS: The Spring and a Scarlett

Hello, bloggers and blogettes! Things here at Chez P:R are rather quiet for a Sunday, which is nice after what’s been a rather crazy ten days or so. Beardman has been laden with midterms and papers, and I had a project for one of my master’s classes due, so we’ve barely seen each other between studying and work. Because of that, he and I went home this weekend to see our parents, which is always a good time to see some of our high school friends as well as enjoying delicious cooking, free cable, and towels that seem to fold themselves (just kidding, mom! I know that’s all you!) It made for some great time to get some reading done, which is what both Beardman and I got the chance to do! He’s re-reading his way through our set of The Hunger Games now that I’ve finished my re-read, since we’re planning on going with a big group of my family to see the movie next weekend. The first time he read them, I actually read them to them, and he seems to be getting even more in to them the second time around. I, on the other hand, was able to knock out both the last 300 pages of Middlemarch (thoughts to follow, as that post would be more than you could handle on the gentle, freakishly spring-like day!) as well as The Magician’s Nephew, the first book in the Chronicles of Narnia series. It felt great to finish both books, and for some reason the reading experience between the two was really complimentary!

**as a side note, is anyone else remarkable freaked out about how nice the weather has been this time of year? I don’t know what it’s like in your hometown, but here we’ve been having the weather we usually have in late April, early May – and it’s only March. And while I’m all for warmer weather and the ability to read outside, it does keep reminding me a whole lot of that pesky global warming issue, as well as the fact that this summer may be just shitty, shitty hot out**

Other than that, I was able to get the wedding invitations printed out at Kinkos this weekend, and now that spring break is here, I’m looking forward to plenty of time in front of the TV, watching the NCAA tourney and putting together 200 mounted and ribboned wedding invites! I’m also really looking forward to starting another book on my list, and am even more excited because that book is Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell!!! This has been one of my favorite movies for ages and I can’t wait to read the book, because I’m sure it’s going to be just as wonderful and beautiful and conflicting as the book is! So tell me, dear readers, how is your Sunday? And great plans for the week ahead?

     

Leave a Reply

