EGADS! A Challenge!

I can’t believe it’s here already! IT’S HERE!!! And this year’s button is even more beautiful than last years (OHEMGEE THE BUTTON). I don’t know how Carl V does it, but somehow he always pull it out when it comes to the Once Upon a Time Challenge. This, along with Carl’s fall-themed Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) challenge, is by far my favorite blog-o-sphere challenge/event. In Carl’s words, the Once Upon a Time challenge

a reading and viewing event that encompasses four broad categories: Fairy Tale, Folklore, Fantasy and Mythology, including the seemingly countless sub-genres and blending of genres that fall within this spectrum. The challenge continues through Tuesday, June 19th and allows for very minor (1 book only) participation as well as more immersion depending on your reading/viewing whims.

Basically, it’s about using that spring air to get in the mood to read all kinds of, well, stories that may indeed begin “once upon a time”! This is the first year I’ve ever tried to coordinate this challenge with other, larger goals behind what I’m blogging, but I’m looking forward to finding a way for them to fit together!

As per usual, Carl has created a variety of levels for participation, everything from reading one work to reading works in each of the four categories AND short stories AND film watching. Because of the other factors I’m trying to stick to, this year I’m thinking I’m going to have to go with:

which just entails reading four or more books in any of the categories over the course of the challenge, which runs from March 21st (yesterday) through June 19th. Looking at my master list, I’ve put together the following list of hopefuls (and yes, I know that the Lord of the Rings is technically three books, but in my mind it all counts as one epic story, so it works)

  1. The Odyssey by Homer
  2. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein
  3. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
  4. Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne AND
  5. A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare (because no springtime or Once Upon a Time challenge would be complete without it!)

All in all, I couldn’t be more excited for the reading, and because this makes it OFFICIALLY spring time! And you? You should participate, too! Hop on over to Carl’s blog, then make sure to come back here and tell me what you’re reading!

<— This totally doesn’t need to be here, but I always love Carl’s buttons, especially those that use Melissa Nucera‘s artwork. Plus…fox!

3 thoughts on “EGADS! A Challenge!

  1. The buttons are fantastic, huh? I did a post last year that covered all my reading from Carl’s previous challenges and I enjoyed hunting down the buttons to include them all. It’s hard to believe, but they do seem to get better and better… (ha, that could put some pressure on Carl if he reads this!)

    I hope you enjoy your books! I love The Lord of the Rings. 🙂

  2. I was just in a discussion on my own blog about counting trilogies as one, epic, particularly long story. Which would have to make Lord of the Rings the chunkster to end all chunksters… 🙂 Have fun with the reading!

    • Thanks! Yeah, including LOTR on the list meant deciding whether or not I wanted to list all three book separately. But, then again, I figure if its all telling the same big story, it shouldn’t matter how many books they have to split the story in to!

Leave a Reply

