RIP VII: Settling in to Fall

Every year, without a doubt, my favorite reading challenge to participate in is the R.I.P. (Readers Imbibing Peril) Challenge hosted by Carl V. over at Stainless Steel Droppings. It’s one of the few challenges that I’m almost always guaranteed to finish – mostly because there are few things I love as much in this world as cold fall nights, the way that crisp air smells, and the feeling of a kind of expectant nostalgia (is that a thing?) where the hairs on your arm stand up and it’s creepy but it’s wonderful because it reminds you of all the times you’ve felt that before. Or, as Carl puts it:

As Autumn arrives upon this hemisphere, a beautiful melancholy settles itself over the world. Daylight fades as the darkness descends earlier each night. Nature beds down to rest and the last flashes of gorgeous color give way to the monochrome shades of winter. There is a wistful scent upon the air and the mood generated by this time of year turns my thoughts toward the mysterious, towards stories with gothic undertones, towards darkened streets and death and the men and women sent to detect those who do these dastardly deeds.

So it’s time to announce my intentions for this year’s wonderfully creepy challenge! For those of you who aren’t sure of the general challenge layout, full details can be found through the link above, but basically this challenge is all about dedicating your reading to all things creepy and Gothic and mysterious and that go bump in the night all through September and October. You can get involved on any number of levels, from reading four books to reading short stories to watching films to any combination of the above! As for me, I’m hoping to be able to really sink my teeth in to a couple great books with short stories rounding out the rest of the couple months. So, without further ado, my tentative list is as follows:

NOVELS

  • The Turn of the Screw by Henry James
  • The Woman in Whiteby Wilkie Collins
  • Draculaby Bram Stoker

SHORT STORIES

  • Fragile Thingsby Neil Gaiman (short story collection)
  • Edgar Allan Poe:
    • “The Pit and the Pendulum”
    • “The Masque of the Red Death”
    • “The Tell-Tale Heart”
    • “The Fall of the House of Usher”
    • “The Murders on the Rue Morgue”
  • H.P. Lovecraft
    • “The Call of Cthulhu”
    • “The Shadow over Innsmouth”
    • “The Colour Out of Space”
    • “The Dunwich Horror”
    • “The Outsider”

FILMS

  • Hocus Pocus
  • Carrie
  • The Shining

Well, I think that about wraps up my intention! This list puts me somewhere around

but of course I’ll also be doing Peril of the Short Story and Peril on the Screen. I’m also SUPER, SUPER excited to read this book:

for the Peril of the Group Read starting October 1st! This has long been one of my favorite Gaiman novels, and I had such a great time reading The Lantern last year during the group read that I can’t wait! Hope to see you all go sign up for the challenge – it’s truly the greatest way to pass the fall and head straight in to all of that great Christmas reading!

2 thoughts on “RIP VII: Settling in to Fall

  1. Yay, great to see you in for RIP 7!!!

    You wrote:

    “mostly because there are few things I love as much in this world as cold fall nights, the way that crisp air smells, and the feeling of a kind of expectant nostalgia (is that a thing?) where the hairs on your arm stand up and it’s creepy but it’s wonderful because it reminds you of all the times you’ve felt that before.” a

    I can so identify with all of that. And yes, I do think there is such a thing as expectant nostalgia. I experience it often, most especially this time of year.

    I too consider The Graveyard Book a favorite and cannot wait to read it again with a group. Should be great fun. I need to get an official sign up post up for it soon.

    Again, lovely to have you joining us.

Leave a Reply

